Leviathan

legacy Part One

shezad DAWOOD vous PROPOSE une vision futuriste de l’evolution de la biodiversite et de l’humanite

Leviathan Legacy: la première partie commence sur une plage de Cuba à la tombée de la nuit, dans 150 ans. En explorant la plage, vous comprenez que la disparité économique entre riches et pauvres s’est creusée et vous voyez une marina de luxe bien éclairée avec un grand mur qui vous empêche de rentrer. Une voix mystérieuse vous pousse ensuite dans l’océan et vous rencontrez le protagoniste de l’histoire: une langouste agrandie du Louisiana – Red Swamp – (actuellement l’une des espèces marines les plus envahissantes) dotée de capacités télépathiques. L’utilisateur rencontrera des poissons-lions mutants, des méduses et des coraux en mouvement qui ont survécu grâce à l’intervention humaine et aux événements provoqués par le changement climatique mondial.

UN PAYSAGE FUTURiste

Shezad Dawood propose, à partir de ce discours basé sur la recherche, à quoi pourrait ressembler notre futur environnement et quelques-uns des problèmes clés qui pourraient l’affecter, tels que l’hybrogénogenèse: qui couvre la symbiose, les croisements, ainsi que l’impact humain sur la biodiversité. L’élévation du niveau de la mer et la calcification des océans ont conduit à la création de nouvelles espèces hybrides et de nouvelles hiérarchies sociales.

Cette expérience de réalité virtuelle – Leviathan Legacy: partie 1 – a été présentée lors de l’Art Review du West Bund Art & Design Fair, Shanghai, du 8 au 11 novembre 2018. La première partie de la trilogie a été développée avec Monochrome à Paris et a été généreusement soutenue par DSL Collection, Plymouth Arts Centre , Le Marine Institute de l’Université de Plymouth, l’Institut d’études avancées de l’Université de Westminster et le programme CreativeXR, une initiative de Digital Catapult et du Arts Council England.

Leviathan

legacy Part One

From this research-based discourse, Dawood proposes what our future landscape might look like in 150 years.


Leviathan Legacy: part 1 begins on a beach in Cuba at nightfall, 150 years into the future. Exploring the beach, you understand that the economic disparity between rich and poor has widened, as you see a brightly lit luxury marina with a tall wall keeping you (the user) out. A mysterious voice then coaxes you into the dark ocean and there you meet the protagonist of the story: an enlarged Louisiana Red Swamp Crayfish (currently one of the most invasive species in the water) with telepathic abilities. The user will encounter mutant lionfish, pulsating jellyfish and coral that have survived through human intervention and events spurred by global climate change.

A future landscape

From this research-based discourse, Dawood proposes what our future landscape might look like and some of the key issues that might shape it, such as hybridogenesis: which covers symbiosis, cross-breeding, as well as human intervention in species. These issues are woven into the backstory of Dawood’s environment where rising sea levels and calcification of the oceans have led to new hybrid species and new social hierarchies.

This VR has two possible language versions (English and Mandarin), with two very different actors and personalities (one a brash New Yorker, and the other, a demurer woman from Shanghai) as a means of conveying parallel narrative possibilities.

Leviathan Legacy: part 1 launches at Art Review’s curated section of West Bund Art & Design Fair, Shanghai 8–11th November 2018. Part 1 of the trilogy has been developed with Monochrome, Paris and has been generously supported by DSL Collection, Plymouth Arts Centre, The Marine Institute at Plymouth University, University of Westminster’s Institute of Advanced Studies and the CreativeXR programme an initiative from Digital Catapult and Arts Council England.